Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Three Cardinals Earn WGCA Scholar All-America Honors

Three Cardinals Earn WGCA Scholar All-America Honors

Click here for official release

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. – The Women's Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) All-American Scholars were announced today with a total of 1,097 women's collegiate golfers recognized with this prestigious honor. The criteria for selection to the All-American Scholar Team are some of the most stringent in all of college athletics. The minimum cumulative GPA is 3.50. Saginaw Valley State University had three student-athletes attain this honor, as Emily Barker, Alexa Marston and Jenna Pepper all made the list for the 2018-19 season.

It was the third straight year that Barker and Marston made the list and the first appearance on the list for Pepper. 

Marston led the way for the Cardinals with a stroke average of 79.25, playing in 20 rounds. She posted a pair of top-five finishes on the season with her best coming at the CT Classic in the fall. She carded rounds of 74-75 in that event to tie for third place. 

Barker was second on the squad with an 80.70 stroke average in 2018-19 while playing in 20 rounds as well. She had two top-10 finishes for the Cards, tying for seventh place at the CT Classic and the Kentucky Wesleyan Invitational in the fall. Emily had a career-low round of 71 in the first round of the CT Classic. 

Pepper competed in 10 rounds for the Cardinals this past season, registering a stroke average of 87.00. She had a season and career-low round of 79 on day one of the SVSU Spring Invitational. 

The Women's Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women's collegiate golf coaches. The WGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the WGCA represents over 600 coaches throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent.