Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Huebner named NCAA Today's Top-10 Award winner

Huebner named NCAA Today's Top-10 Award winner

UNIVERSITY CENTER, Mich. – Following her historic career with the Saginaw Valley State University track & field team, former Cardinal student-athlete and multi-time NCAA National Champion Lauren Huebner is set to be awarded a highly prestigious, national honor next week.

The 2022 NCAA Today's Top-10 Award winners were announced on Monday, with Huebner, a graduate of SVSU and former star of the Cardinal women's track & field team, joining an impressive list of honorees. The Saginaw native is the first SVSU student-athlete to be named an NCAA Today's Top-10 Award winner.

Lauren Huebner

      SVSU Track & Field

  • Two-time NCAA DII National Champion (2019 Outdoor Heptathlon, 2021 4x400-meter relay)
  • Five-time NCAA DII All-American
  • Two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American
  • USTFCCCA All-Academic five times
  • GLIAC Commissioners Award winner (2019, 2020, 2021)
  • SVSU President's List for earning a perfect GPA 10 times
  • Community Service Chair of the SVSU SAAC
  • Bachelor of Science in Rehabilitation Medicine (May 2020) / Master of Science in Occupational Therapy (Fall 2021)

The NCAA Today's Top-10 award recognizes former student-athletes across all divisions for their successes on the field, in the classroom, and in the community. Recipients will be recognized at the NCAA Honors Celebration awards show on Wednesday, Jan. 19 in Indianapolis. The honorees were selected by the NCAA Honors Committee, composed of representatives of NCAA member schools, conferences, and distinguished citizens, including past awardees.

Huebner joins fellow 2022 award winners: Anna Cockrell (Southern California), Kendall Cornick (Augustana University), Stefani Deschner (Notre Dame), Mac Jones (Alabama), Eka Jones (WashU), Jack Ming Jie Lin (Columbia), Danny Logan (Denver), Estela Pérez-Somarriba (Miami) and Kendall Sosa (Illinois Wesleyan).