Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cross Country and Track Teams Hold Annual Awards Banquet

Cross Country and Track Teams Hold Annual Awards Banquet

View Photos Here 

UNIVERSITY CENTER — The Saginaw Valley State University cross country and track & field programs held their annual banquet on Saturday, October 14th to honor their student-athletes for their performances during the 2016-17 season.

The teams handed out their annual honors and awards, featuring back to back Women's Cross Country Mel Adelman MVP winner, Allison Dorr and back to back Women's Track and Field MVP, Taylor Stepanski. Below is a list of the awards handed-out.

Men's Cross Country Awards

Men Most Improved – Clyde Anderson

Most Dedicated – Nate Frasier 

MVP – Tom Goforth


Women's Cross Country Awards

 Most Improved – Allison Dorr

Best New Athlete – Sydney Kreger

Most Dedicated – Darby Meinecke

Mel Adelman MVP – Allison Dorr 


Men's Track & Field Awards

Most Improved – Joey Southgate

Best New Athlete – Jullane Walker

Most Dedicated – Ryan Kelly

Eddie Brown MVP – Sam Black


Women's Track & Field Awards

Women Most Improved – Allison Dorr

Best New Athlete – Lauren Huebner

Most Dedicated – Anna Fochesato

MVP – Taylor Stepanski 


The Merry Jo Brandimore "Four Cards" Award was taken home by Joey Southgate. The award goes to the student-athlete who best exemplifies the four SVSU Athletic Department goals of graduation and retention, winning championships with integrity, having a positive experience and community involvement.

The Chuck Wheeler "Volunteer of the Year" Award was given to Don Stadnika.