Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cross Country and Track Teams Hold Annual Awards Banquet

Cross Country and Track Teams Hold Annual Awards Banquet

Click here for photos from the event

UNIVERSITY CENTER - The Saginaw Valley State University cross country and track & field programs held their annual banquet on Saturday, October 17th to honor their student-athletes for their performances during the 2014-15 season. It was the first time the programs held the event in the fall for the previous year, compared to the spring.

The teams handed out their annual honors and awards, including the newly-minted Eddie Brown Most Valuable Male Student-Athlete, in honor of the most decorated Saginaw Valley track student-athlete in the history of the program. Below is a list of the awards handed-out.

Men's Cross Country Awards

Most Improved - Andrew Plude

Best New Athlete - Tom Goforth

Most Dedicated - Clyde Anderson

MVP - Joey Southgate

Women's Cross Country Awards

Most Improved - Not Awarded

Best New Athlete - Alicia Tomlin

Most Dedicated - Tori Peet

Mel Adelman MVP - Emily Short

Men's Track & Field Awards

Most Improved - Lee Chiatalas

Best New Athlete - Travon Phillips

Most Dedicated - Robert Tarpley

Eddie Brown MVP - Andrew Mudd

Women's Track & Field Awards

Most Improved - Paige Stepanski

Best New Athlete - Devyn Powell

Most Dedicated - Cady Sandel

MVP - Taylor Stepanski

The Merry Jo Brandimore "Four Cards" Award was taken home by Frank Sanders. The award goes to the student-athlete who best exemplifies the four SVSU Athletic Department goals of graduation and retention, winning championships with integrity, having a positive experience and community involvement.

The Chuck Wheeler "Volunteer of the Year" Award was given to Chuck Cusick.