May 17, 2010

Kelly, Schulz Earn All-GLIAC Honors

BAY CITY, Mich. - Saginaw Valley State junior golfer Nate Kelly (Suttons Bay, Mich.) was named to the 2009-10 All-GLIAC Men's Golf Second Team, it was announced by the league office.   Kelly landed on the team after posting a 73.60 stroke average in the 2009-10 season.

Senior teammate Dieter Schulz (Fort Gratiot, Mich./Port Huron Northern HS) earned a spot on the All-GLIAC Honorable Mention Team after recording an average of 73.87 strokes this past season.

Ferris State's Eric Lilleboe earned the GLIAC Men's Golf "Athlete of the Year" award after posting a 69.33 stroke average, the only GLIAC golfer to average 70 this past year.  Grand Valley State's Chase Olsen earned "Freshman of the Year" honors while Wayne State's Mike Horn was tabbed as the "Coach of the Year".

All-GLIAC Men's Golf selections are based upon a player's stroke average in his 15 best rounds in league play, including the three rounds in the GLIAC Tournament.  All ties are broken by total strokes in the GLIAC Tournament.

Click here for full GLIAC Release