Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bryan Jones named to College Football America's Division II Starting Lineup

Bryan Jones named to College Football America's Division II Starting Lineup

Click here for full release

UNIVERSITY CENTER, Mich. -- Saginaw Valley State University senior linebacker Bryan Jones has garnered some preseason recognition heading into the 2017 season, earning a spot on the 2017 College Football America Division II Starting Lineup. 

Jones, the reigning GLIAC leader in tackles per game (11.1) and Second Team All-GLIAC selection at the linebacker position, is poised to lead a strong unit and Cardinal defense heading into the 2017 campaign. He added a pair of sacks, a fumble recovery and a forced fumble last season, blocking two extra points as well. Bryan had five pass break-ups and had 7.5 total tackles for loss on the season. 

SVSU opens the 2017 season on the road Saturday, September 2 at Alderson Broaddus University for a non-conference tilt. The Cards then host Walsh in another non-league game before opening GLIAC play September 16 at Wayne State. 

The College Football America 2017 Yearbook features more than 930 college football teams from the United States and Canada over the course of more than 300 striking, full-color pages. That includes every team from the NCAA (FBS, FCS, Division II and Division III), NAIA, NJCAA, CCCAA and U Sports (Canada). It also includes updates on club football, one-year postgraduate prep/sports academies and Mexican college football, along with dozens of action shots and stadium photos.

2017 College Football America Division II Starting Lineup


Pos.  Name                                 School                        Yr.

QB     MICHAEL KEIR                     California (PA)              Sr.

RB     MARTY CARTER                    Grand Valley State       Jr.

RB     MAX MICKEY                        Sioux Falls                   Sr.

WR    DRE HALL                            North Alabama             Sr.

WR    DAMON GIBSON                   MSU-Moorhead             Sr.

TE     BRODY OLIVER                    Colorado Mines             Jr.

OL     GAVIN DE LOS SANTOS        Harding                        Sr.

OL     JOE HILLIN                          Mars Hill                       Sr.

OL     JOSEPH LACEY                     LIU Post                       Sr.

OL     LAVONTE HIGHTS                Shepherd                     Sr.

OL     ALEX CAPPA                         Humboldt State            Sr.

KR     TA'NAUZ GREGORY              Edinboro                      So.



Pos.  Name                                 School                        Yr.

DL     ZACH SIELER                       Ferris State                  Jr.

DL     BRANDON JONES                 Texas A&M-Kingsville    Jr.

DL     JARELL BRIGHT                    Winston-Salem State   Jr.

LB     BRYAN JONES                    Saginaw Valley State    Sr.

LB     BO HIGHBURGER                 Western Oregon           Jr.

LB     KEVIN HAYNES                    Central Washington      Sr.

DB     DREW HEBEL                       Black Hills State           Jr.

DB     JOSHUA SIMMONS               Limestone                    Sr.

DB     CARLO THOMAS                   Johnson C. Smith         Sr.

DB     JARED CHESTER                  LIU Post                       Sr.

P       CARTER ANCHORS               Pittsburg State             Jr.

PR     SHAWN HOOKS                    Texas A&M-Commerce  Sr.